India Against Corruption movement, team

India Against Corruption movement, team

India Against Corruption (IAC) is an Indian anti-corruption movement founded on 26 February 2007

India Against Corruption (IAC) is the present incarnation of the 'Hindustan Republican Association', which was founded on 3 October,1924 at 'Kanpur' by 'Sachindra Nath Sanyal' and other freedom fighters but was banned as a terrorist organization by the Government of British India.

The India Against Corruption jan andolan (people's movement) was revived twice after India's Independence as a a collective expression of the people of India fighting against corruption, fed up with misrule and corruption under India's main ruling party, on 17 April 1973 by 'Raj Narain' and again on 26 February 2007 by Sarbajit Roy IAC's current National Convenor.[1], [2], [3]

The well timed campaign by the organisers ('India Against Corruption team') of the present India Against Corruption movement supported by numerous activist organisations all working under the banner of "India Against Corruption" brought millions of protestors onto the streets in 2011 using charismatic figureheads, populist slogans and social media.[4] The campaign fanned popular anger against widespread corruption and the illegal system requiring bribes at every level of governance to get things done where democratically elected governments are so beholden to special interests that they can no longer deliver reform.[5],[*]

Tragically, the initial successes of the India Against Corruption campaign were soon lost, hit by a series of high profile scandals and exits of leaders from the campaign, the last announced on 3 August 2012 when the IAC campaign's lead figurehead Arvind Kejriwal (along with his charismatic deputy Anna Hazare) were eased out by IAC's owners the reclusive IAC head quarters (IAC-HQ) or HRA.[6]

Author: India Against Corruption

India Against Corruption ("IAC") is a people's organisation affiliated to the Hindustan Republican Association which was founded on 3 October,1924 at Kanpur (United Provinces). It is today one of the secular "public" faces of the HRA movement.